Posted by: Insomniac Mummy | August 6, 2009

Six people…..

…..that shape me into the person I am today.

  1. My Mum – I only spent 5 short years with my mum before she was taken by leukaemia. My memories of her become hazier as time passes. In those years we had together I knew I was loved and cherished. Life was carefree and love was unconditional.
  2. My Dad – There have been times in my life when I have wished my Dad would give me space. His constant worrying, checking up on me & staying up until I got in (at some very un-godly hours) would drive me round the bend. Now I am a mother I know that this worry was born out of unconditional love. When I was young and flighty I just couldn’t see beyond the end of my own nose. My Dad instilled in me my love of books and writing, someting I will be eternally grateful for.
  3. My Husband – G came into my life unexpectedly. I was on the verge of self destruction and then one day, suddenly, he was there. I’m not sure I believe in ‘love’ at first sight, but something certainly clicked in us both very early on and we just ‘knew’ our futures were the same. On the days when I’m bossy and tetchy and generally a horror to live with, he loves me without question. There is no-one on the planet who would out up with my mood swings and bossiness like he does! He sees the ‘me’ that no-one else sees and allows me to be just that, for which I am thankful.
  4. My Brothers – I have 2 brothers. Both are younger than I. In many ways we are all chalk and cheese, but in others we are too similar. It’s mainly our similarities that cause us to argue. We are all terribly stubborn!  They both know their own minds very well and have taught me that voicing your opinion is important. Sometimes you just need to be heard and individuality is something to be proud of.
  5. My Friend S – S and I were inseparable at university. We shared everything. A house, clothes, food, good times and the bad. She is the closest thing I have to a sister. She survived a serious illness with great dignity and grace and although she doesn’t realise it, she is a tower of strength. I can only aspire to be as level headed and strong as she.
  6. My Children – I have always worried how I was going to cope with being a mother after losing mine so long ago. I still have days where I am unsure of  simply how to be a mother. My children and I are learning from each other. They have taught me, once again, that the love between a mother and her children is unconditional.
Leave a Reply

Categories

