Posted by: Insomniac Mummy | August 3, 2009

Does anyone know where my sleep went?

I’ve never been the best of sleepers………

Ten weeks ago I gave birth to my beautiful daughter ‘Little E’. As any parent of a newborn knows, sleep is a rare thing and the age old mantra ‘you sleep when they sleep’ is the only sensible way forward. Throw in a helping of ‘Big E’, my 2 ¾ year old son and sleep becomes a virtual impossibility.

Big E’s current favourite act of sleep thievery is to want to ‘cuddle mummy in mummy’s bed’ at 6:30am then proceed to tantrum for a full half hour (for reasons only known to him) every morning until he wakes Little E. Little E then wants her morning milk extra early and our whole routine is in tatters before the day has even really begun.  God love ’em!

I am also my own worst enemy. Instead of going to bed early and letting my long suffering husband G do Little E’s dreamfeed, I stay up ’til all hours of the night catching up on chores, reading, surfing the www & watching trash TV (current favourite guilty pleasure being Gossip Girl) and sometimes don’t even reacquaint myself with the duvet until after 2am, later even.

The sleep I get these days is of the ‘collapsed because I’m so exhausted’ kind.

24 hours just isn’t enough hours to fit everything in!  I need staff.

I really can’t complain though. My sleep thieves are the most precious things in the world to me and my long suffering husband G does more than his fair share. Who knows, in 18 years time I may actually get a date with the duvet all by myself. Until then, I’ll do my very best not to miss a thing.

Leave a Reply

Categories

